An Hour Out With Autism

The 30th day of Ramadan is always the longest

That’s not necessarily a bad thing but when S was already upset that Eid wasn’t on Tuesday he was starting to get impatient.

I had plenty of things to do that Tuesday, make videos for eid, finish the last few questions of my course, book an appointment with the dentist and pop to the doctor surgery to reissue my prescription.

And as some of you probably know, I usually take R.H. out with me for those sort of trips.

However, after Mum and Dad went out for a little while and I finally got out of bed, R.H. was busy watching R on the D.S.

So I did the craziest thing imaginable, I asked S to come out with me.

And even though he was in a mood, impatiently waiting for Eid to set in, I actually managed to convince him saying time would move faster if he went out for a walk and promising him he could go on my phone whilst we were in the surgery.

So he said yes.

It was incredibly windy that day so we put on some hoodie, (he wore a hoodie over his pajamas because we didn’t bother changing out of them) and then we put on our shoes and said to ourselves, make sure to bring the autism lanyard.

We still forgot.

As we left he asked me if we were taking the bus, I said it wasn’t far enough to take the bus.

Then I should him out the window from the building’s hallway that we could see the surgery from there.

He still wanted to take the bus but he walked anyway.

As we got out the building and realised we left his lanyard, we didn’t bother going back up we just continued. I reminded him again that the distance wasn’t far at all and we made our way.

We were chatting, and he wanted some ice cream but the ice cream van wasn’t there.

I had to protect him from the wind several times because he got a bit scared by it.

At one point he asked me what the surgery looked like as so I described in detail how to get into the building and I also told him it would take me maxime 10 minutes, I think that helped not over stimulate him when we arrived.

We went over my description as we got to the building and then I gave him my phone and headphones and settled him into a chair before joining the one man queue.

It didn’t take long to deal with so before we properly left the surgery I sat down for a minute and waited for the reel he was watching to finish before turning off the phone to tell him we need to leave since he didn’t hear me the first time I said it

He could tell it hadn’t been 10 minutes but then I reminded him I said maximum 10 minutes.

We went home a different way from the way we arrived on his request for a shortcut.

It was pretty much the same length or even a bit longer though.

We headed home and bumped into an aunty of ours who also has children with autism. We spoke to her for a few minutes then walked home and stomped on a few bits of occupied litter.

You can see a video of it on my IG @shadowstrike04

Then we went to the corner shop and I bought some sweets for him.

One thing though, my parents didn’t know I had taken him out so I did get a bit of a warning from Mum but since he was fine and surgery is very much a good place for an Autistic kid to have a meltdown, everything was all OK.

Inshallah I’ll get to take him out more by myself, with his lanyard though.

Leave a comment