I Hate Wednesdays But…

…OMG Wednesday was so good!

I downloaded Reddit recently and made a post about Netflix’s Wednesday and the response was mixed but it was interesting to see what is going on in the semi-dark depths of the internet.

Watching me watch this series must have been extremely interesting as a I had a mental breakdown as I tried to predict the series.

Which is good right? It kept me on my toes. I ended up being right so that’s all good. Someone called the “TheWanderingLich” seemed to have used the same reasoning as I did that there were too many “red arrows” pointing towards certain characters so yeah I was having a mental breakdown especially as I favoured some characters over others.

Let’s go into the show. Wednesday is a spinoff series based on the infamous Addams Family. An A-typical drama with the Monster High trope but the monsters are called ‘Outcasts’ and humans are very much aware of them.

Wednesday arrives at Nevermore Academy after a personally rather hilarious incident with piranhas and a swim team. She is slowly developing clairvoyant abilities and is at her wits end with her parents supposedly extremely controlling.

After arrival, she meets the characters of the series including a Were-pup should we say, called Enid, a Syren called Bianca, a kid named Rowan and an art illusionist named Xavier who she had met when was younger.

Xavier notably is the male character I preferred over the other guys introduced including this ‘normie’ named Tyler.

-I found out a while after that the actor for Xavier (Percy Hynes White) was from the show The Gifted (2017-2019) that I watched last year.

The mystery for me like it did for Wednesday kept me on edge and excited not that she showed it much.

My theorising of who the murder was, mostly went off based on the process of elimination and the fact that I did not like Tyler from the beginning and my ‘met her first’ principle that I developed from Kdramas.

To explain the principle, if the second lead likes the female lead as well depending on how he treats the girl or if he met her first, I generally prefer the second lead to the first lead. Of course even if the first lead meets her first, the way he treats the girl isn’t always as good as the second. Prime example the toxic first lead in the drama Cheese in a Trap who actually met Kim Go-Eun’s character after the second lead did (played by Seo Kang-Joon). For me it’s not always male lead first as well, specifically in the drama King of High School, when Seo In-Guk’s character falls for the older sister of the his female classmate who had liked him throughout their time in school, to me that is not very nice, I didn’t like that so much I stopped watching.

Returning to Wednesday: it was an enjoyable modern take on the Addams Family and the subtle references to other references to classic dark fantasy literature and the references to historic figures and events such as the Salem Witch Trials.

It also has a deep message of how people can alter history to suit their own agendas.

The twists and turns in the show were exciting and kept me hooked to the show and the writing was personally pretty good.

I do have a post to explain the different types of writing plots and how they are viewed coming up soon inshallah. Hopefully next week. (I’ve got a whole page of different posts to do including ‘The Psychology of Black Clothing’. Not posting for a while is making these things leak out of my brain)

My Reddit post: https://www.reddit.com/r/WednesdayTVSeries/comments/zr9t6b/tyler/

There I talked about how I dislike Tyler’s character but others still like him after his reveal, personally as I mentioned in the post and in the comments of the post that his lack of redemption is why I haven’t begun liking him yet. Normally, I’d like the evil characters you know, but personally he just has done anything psychotic enough for me to like him. He’s just pretty plain despite his alternative ego, if you’ve read my posts before or you read the posts: Manipulative Hugs, Soak up the Drama or Am I Crying?, you would know that I like psychotic characters, especially after they are redeemed (that last final act or final sacrifice) but with Tyler that just didn’t come and my views currently can’t be changed.

Season Two of Wednesday is yet to be announced so as of now for an age rating definitely I’d go for 15 plus unless your squeamish.

Star Rating: โญโญโญโญ

S/N: some people had an issue with Wednesday making all their black characters bullies, personally I think, specifically with Bianca, she wasn’t so much a bully but more the student who was at the top of the class who people were wary of. This actually quiet good compared to black students who are generally portrayed as the bottom of the class are stereotypically more athletic than book smart. Bianca was an all rounder.

If you agree with this post, please like this update, follow us and Remember, Watch the Shadows.

Leave a comment