Got busy so here’s a meme

I did have a legitimate thing to post about today but I spent too long mending one of my anime shirts to fit better, though the size of the shirt is fine I’m just not used to wearing sleeves that are fitted because everything I normally wear clothes with loose sleeves, so I cut open the sleeves from the bottom of them (so where it’s stitched together in the first place).

Then obviously, since I cut it, I need to sew it back up again but I need more material, so I went to the sides of my shirt and cut each side from the bottom in a similar shape that I cut the pit parts of the sleeves and sewed those pieces on by hand.

Next I folded the cut parts of the sleeves to recreate bias binding without any bias binding. Which went pretty well because normally I suck at bias binding -I’m trying to make a dress for R in my sewing class but the bias binding has thrown my off at least three times now.

Then I went to the bottom parts of my shirt again and folded them (once again mimicking bias binding) but disaster right at the end when the machine started messing up because the string at the bottom of the machine began running out so I had to stitch up one side by hand but it’s alright because I’ve been sewing by hand since pretty much since I first started being homeschooled.

P.S. If you don’t know what bias binding is, go to the sleeves or the necklines of any shirt (unless the shirt has an elastic neckline like the one I’m wearing now) and look at the two rows of stitches at the ends of them, this is the end result of the bias binding, the purpose is to hide all the fraying of the material after it’s been cut.

P.P.S my grandparents on my dad’s side are tailors and my grandma from mum’s side knows how to sew with a machine because she went to a prim and proper British school growing up.

2 thoughts on “Got busy so here’s a meme

  1. abdussalamk says:

    LOLLLL, I didn’t read the post yet, but the meme is ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ‘Œ
    Unfortunately, I need to keep reminding myself to shush sometimes.

  2. abdussalamk says:

    oo interesting mA, never knew what bias binding was b4

Leave a comment