Skills

People always say don’t judge a book by its cover but pro bookworms do it everyday!

I consider myself a pro when it comes to a lot of things one being a pro bookworm. Kindle Books, Wattpad Books, bought books, library books, comic books and manga, I’ve got them all.

Something you hear often is to not judge a book by its cover but whenever I look for books to read the first thing I do is judge the cover and the title, these are what catch your eye when picking a book when I don’t like the cover of a book I don’t always enjoy the book. For example this book called Gumiho:

Gumiho (Wicked Fox) (Gumiho, 1): Amazon.co.uk: Kat Cho: 9781984814715: Books

I got it because I have an interest in Nine-tailed foxes but I didn’t really like the cover because it was very pink and I didn’t end up enjoying the book despite it having good reviews, cringey romance just isn’t my thing.

Another book would be Inkheart:

Inkheart: the bestselling fantasy adventure from critically-acclaimed  author Cornelia Funke (Inkheart trilogy book 1) eBook : Funke, Cornelia:  Amazon.co.uk: Kindle Store

My friend highly recommended this book to me but I thought that the cover was a bit too busy and then I didn’t enjoy the book so much that I didn’t finish it.

If you looked at my bookshelf that most of my covers aren’t as busy or bright and I’ve enjoyed most of the books that I own.

From these example you’d most probably assume that this is only a me thing ya know? But what inspired this post was actually H. She was telling me about how she doesn’t read books with people’s faces on them because they are likely to have inappropriate bits and swearing. Since I’m much more relaxed with books with swearing in them thanks to my trusty black pens I started pulling out books from my shelves for her to guess which ones had swearing and or inappropriate bits in it and she guess right for most of them.

Another one of the skills I have is the ability to watch an anime or a drama in a foreign language at the same time whilst doing other things like working on the laptop or cooking and cleaning. To me its not hard but people think that sub-watchers are always constantly glued to their screens looking up and down between the subtitles and the scenes of the anime/drama, for me personally I don’t struggle with either. With anime, especially Shounen anime, its very easy to look away from the screen for a while because there are a lot of scenes where they aren’t speaking for dramatic effects or they are yelling lines that I understand so I don’t need to turn around.

I think one thing that helps is the fact that I’m a faster reader, because I can read the subs before the character finishes speaking so I’m constantly ahead of the scene.

And the final pro skill I have is typing without looking at the keyboard and also being able to sense when I’ve made a spelling mistake because I know my finger has tapped the wrong key, I’m about 90% accurate with this specific skill because mistakes do often slip through the cracks, especially when I’m using bigger or smaller laptops.

I don’t know if this counts as a pro skill or not because Mum and H just find it weird but I can listen to nasheeds whilst reading. When I do I just end up blocking out the sound of the nasheed but it doesn’t disturb my reading. I think I develop these skills because I’m pretty adaptable alhamdulilah and good with patterns (the cover thing).

Do you have any pro skills you’ve developed? Tell us in the comments below.

If you enjoyed this article, please like this update, follow us And Remember, Watch The Shadows

2 thoughts on “Skills

  1. abdussalamk says:

    Wow, that is really interesting (and cool) Masha’Allah.
    The only thing I can do from this list is touch type, and the same goes for me with mistyping.
    Lol, what’s the point of listening to the nasheed at that point then. I know for a fact that I wouldn’t be able to do that, because even when I’m studying (doing h.w etc), I find it quite difficult to have a nasheed playing in the background at the same time (even if it’s quite low). The only time I can do it is when the thing I’m doing doesn’t require that much focus.

    • ummhimayah says:

      I think for me is because I work with rhythms, my brain just tends to work with rhythm better, if I’m doing something with repetitive movements such as washing dishes having nasheeds playing it helps me move faster as I’m working along with the rhythm of whatever is playing.

Leave a comment